Blog Hero

What Are the Seven Stages of Alzheimer’s?

Schedule Your Tour

Alzheimer’s disease is a progressive brain disorder that primarily affects memory, thinking skills, and the ability to perform everyday tasks. Typically, Alzheimer’s disease progresses slowly in 7 stages:

  1. No impairment
  2. Very mild cognitive decline 
  3. Mild cognitive decline
  4. Moderate cognitive decline
  5. Moderately severe cognitive decline
  6. Severe cognitive decline
  7. Very severe cognitive decline

Understanding the stages of progression of Alzheimer’s disease can help families provide memory care and support for their loved ones and improve their quality of life. Memory care in senior living communities offers a safe environment and enriching activities to help loved ones live independently and receive the care they need.

What Is Alzheimer’s Disease?

Alzheimer’s disease is a progressive neurodegenerative disorder that primarily affects memory, cognitive function, and an individual’s ability to carry out simple everyday tasks. Symptoms result from damage to certain parts of the brain that can affect the functioning of that region.

Common symptoms of Alzheimer’s disease can include:

  • Memory loss
  • Confusion
  • Difficulty in problem-solving
  • Changes in personality

As the disease advances, individuals may struggle with communication, recognizing loved ones, and basic motor skills. While the exact cause of Alzheimer’s disease remains unclear, the main features of the disease include abnormal clumps and bundles of fibers in the brain and loss of connection between brain cells.

Currently, there is no cure for Alzheimer’s disease, but early diagnosis and supportive care can enhance the quality of life for individuals. Treatment for Alzheimer’s disease in mild to moderate and moderate to severe stages can help reduce cognitive and behavioral symptoms.

7 Stages of Alzheimer’s Disease

While not everyone affected by the disease will experience it the same, there are generally 7 stages of Alzheimer’s disease characterized by how it progresses and the accompanying symptoms.

Stage 1: No Impairment

In the initial stage, there are no noticeable symptoms of Alzheimer’s disease. Your loved one functions independently, showing no signs of memory loss or cognitive decline. Stage one is often challenging to detect without any evidence of symptoms.

Stage 2: Very Mild Cognitive Decline

As Alzheimer’s disease progresses to the second stage, subtle memory lapses may become noticeable. These might include forgetting names, misplacing keys, or difficulty recalling recent events.

Some of these instances may come across as a normal part of aging because there are no symptoms of Alzheimer’s disease detected in a clinical setting. During this stage, family members can monitor the frequency of memory lapses and their impact on daily life.

Stage 3: Mild Cognitive Decline

In the third stage, the signs of Alzheimer’s disease become more apparent. While loved ones can still function independently, family members and friends may notice more clear signs. These can include:

  • Difficulty completing familiar tasks
  • Struggle to find the right words during conversations
  • Struggle to remember names of new acquaintances
  • Losing or misplacing things

At this point, seeking a professional evaluation is crucial for an accurate diagnosis.

Stage 4: Moderate Cognitive Decline

The moderate stage marks a significant shift. Your loved one may withdraw from social activities due to challenges with communication and cognition. Basic tasks like managing finances or planning events become increasingly difficult. As an adult child, it’s essential to approach this stage with patience and empathy, creating a supportive environment for your loved one.

Stage 5: Moderately Severe Cognitive Decline

During the fifth stage, loved ones with Alzheimer’s disease may require assistance with daily activities. Personal care, such as dressing and grooming, becomes a struggle.

Memory gaps extend to forgetting personal details, such as their address or phone number. As an adult child, it’s crucial to discuss and plan for long-term care options, considering the best interests and well-being of a loved one.

Stage 6: Severe Cognitive Decline

As Alzheimer’s disease progresses to the sixth stage, your loved one’s cognitive function deteriorates significantly. They may struggle to recognize familiar faces, experience changes in personality and exhibit behavioral issues. Providing constant care with emotional support and maintaining a familiar environment become essential components of caregiving during this challenging stage.

Stage 7: Very Severe Cognitive Decline

The final stage is severe cognitive decline and the loss of the ability to communicate. Basic motor skills decline, and individuals may become bedridden. At this point, around-the-clock care is necessary. As an adult child, it’s essential to focus on preserving your loved one’s dignity, focus on their comfort, and cherish moments of connection.

Personalized Support for Alzheimer’s

Caring for a loved one with Alzheimer’s disease can be stressful and emotional. While each stage of Alzheimer’s disease presents its own set of challenges, understanding the progression of the disease allows family members to anticipate and respond with compassion, prepare for what to expect, and provide the right level of support.

If you suspect a loved one may be showing signs of Alzheimer’s disease, consult a healthcare professional for a proper diagnosis. For personalized support and care, contact Fox Trail Memory Care in New Jersey for information about our memory care program to help manage the care needs of a loved one.

Written by adminfoxtrail

More Articles By adminfoxtrail
instagram facebook facebook2 pinterest twitter google-plus google linkedin2 yelp youtube phone location calendar share2 link star-full star star-half chevron-right chevron-left chevron-down chevron-up envelope fax